Witham Wheelers Open 25 Report – Photos in Gallery

Perrett and Orridge take top spots in the Witham Wheelers 25



William Perrett (Aerolab Ward WheelZ) was victorious in a course record time in the Witham Wheelers 25-mile time trial near Sleaford, while Harriet Orridge (Witham Wheelers) led the field in the women’s event.

24-year-old Perrett recorded back-to-back wins as he claimed the course record on the way beating the previous best by 1:15. The new record set by Perrett is 48:49.

James Gelsthorpe (Velo-One Cycling Team) and Andy Thomas (Lindsey Roads CC) were the following riders to claim podium spots, clocking in at 52:45 and 53:00 respectively.

The C25/22 is an out and back course that begins on the A15 near Silk Willoughby. Riders go south down the Sleaford bypass and pass through Osbournby on their way to the A52 roundabout just off of Barnes Road, where they turn for home.

Perrett was the winner of the Leicestershire Road Club’s 25-mile event last week. He was able to carry that form into this race and will be hoping to continue the streak when he next competes.

Second placed Gelsthorpe was looking to build on an already impressive 2021 by going one up on his second placed finish last week, but he was unable to outpace the winner, making this back-to-back runner up positions for the senior rider. Meanwhile Thomas was claiming his first podium finish of the season, his previous highest being seventh, which he achieved last week also at the Leicestershire Road Club’s 25.

In the women’s event it was veteran Harriet Orridge that claimed her first win of the season, coming in at 1:09:14 and leading the promoting club to a 1-2-3.

In second was Louise George (Witham Wheelers CC) 1:10:01, while Carol Milne (Witham Wheelers CC) took the final podium spot with a time of 1:11:03 to make it a full house for Witham.

Orridge was yet to win an open event before this, but she did finish in second in her last event, and was able to capitalise on that result and bring her form into this event. She will hopefully be in action next on the 17th July, where she is awaiting confirmation of her place in the Lincolnshire RRA 25.

Prior to this event George had been absent from the open time trial scene since August of last year so will have been delighted with the second placed finish after such a long lay-off.

*All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Neral Buckley.



1 William Perrett (Aerolab Ward WheelZ)  48:49 – Course Record

2 James Gelsthorpe (Velo-One Cycling Team) 52:45

3 Andy Thomas (Lindsey Roads CC) 53:00

4 Reece Egner (Witham Wheelers CC) 54:08

5 Antony Gough (Velo-One Cycling Team) 56:57

6 Geoff Platts (Team Bottrill)  57:04


1 Harriett Orridge (Witham Wheelers) 1:09:14

2 Louise George (Witham Wheelers) 1:10:01

3 Carol Milne (Witham Wheelers) 1:11:03

4 Julie Clark (Witham Wheelers) 1:12:04

Vets on Standard:

1 Geoff Platts +15:34

2 Andy Thomas  +15:23

1WilliamPerrettMaleAeroLab Ward WheelZ48:49:00
2JamesGelsthorpeMaleVelo-One Cycling Team (Staples Vegetables-Great British Farmers) 52:45:00
3AndyThomasMaleLindsey Roads Cycling Club53:00:00
4ReeceEgnerMaleWitham Wheelers54:08:00
5AntonyGoughMaleVelo-One Cycling Team (Staples Vegetables-Great British Farmers) 56:57:00
6GeoffPlattsMaleTeam Bottrill57:04:00
7LeeThomasMaleVelo-One Cycling Team (Staples Vegetables-Great British Farmers) 59:27:00
8PaulMapletoftMaleKiveton Park Cycling Club59:50:00
9SteveClarkeMaleTMG Horizon Cycling Team01:00:02
10MichaelLambMaleKiveton Park Cycling Club01:01:37
11StevenLoraineMaleLegato Racing Team (LRT)01:01:39
12LozStaplesMaleVelo-One Cycling Team (Staples Vegetables-Great British Farmers) 01:01:56
13SimonCockerMaleWitham Wheelers01:02:59
14SimonWrightMaleSpalding CC01:03:22
15RogerSewellMaleWisbech Whs01:04:16
16JamesJeffriesMaleSleaford Wheelers Cycling Club01:05:22
17JohnOrridgeMaleWitham Wheelers01:06:37
17JohnLindleyMaleLincoln Wheelers CC01:06:37
19MartinListerMaleWitham Wheelers01:06:43
20MarkStockMaleVelo Club Long Eaton01:06:56
21HarrietOrridgeFemaleWitham Wheelers01:09:14
22WilliamBurtonMaleCambridge CC01:09:52
23LouiseGeorgeFemaleWitham Wheelers01:10:01
24CarolMilneFemaleWitham Wheelers01:11:03
25IanScottMaleBoston Wheelers CC01:11:20
26JulieClarkFemaleWitham Wheelers01:12:04
27JohnScottMaleSleaford Wheelers Cycling Club01:17:50