League 10 – No. 15 – Photos in Gallery

The final week of the Witham Wheelers Time Trial 2019 10 mile time trial league, saw one of the better evenings of the year weather wise with a warm westerly breeze. But in the performances there was definitely an end of season feel with a few riders maintaining good form while others dropped away after enjoying a summer holiday break.

Reece Egner continued his good form breaking the 22 minute barrier for the first time with a 10 second improvement to a rapid 21.55. Second quickest John Orridge 24.48 with James Westwood not far behind in 25.00

In the Ladies Carol Milne 28.21 got the better of Louise George 28.32 for once with Julie Clark 29.28 third.

The youngsters were the only other riders to improve on the evening with Josh Gibson improving by 8 seconds to 28.00 and Jack Simpson taking a big 52 seconds off for 28.36 for a significant win on Handicap.

In the veterans it was Michael Smalley +3.45 again by a big margin from John Orridge +1.52 and James Westwood + 1.49.

         Round 15 Results     
Overall RankingsHandicap RankingsVeteran Rankings
1Reece Egner21:55PB-00:10201Jack Simpson-00:52201Michael Smalley29:45-03:4520
2John Orridge24:48+00:16192Joshua Gibson-00:28192John Orridge26:40-01:5219
3James Westwood25:00+00:52183Reece Egner-00:27183James Westwood26:49-01:4918
4Michael Smalley26:00+01:11174John Orridge+00:16174Simon Cocker27:39-01:3217
5Simon Cocker26:07+01:18164Phil Gibson+00:16175Carol Milne29:27-01:0616
6Joshua Gibson28:00PB-00:08156Carol Milne+00:25156Louise George29:27-00:5515
7Carol Milne28:21+00:58147James Westwood+00:31147Julie Clark28:52+00:3614
8Louise George28:32+01:56138Michael Smalley+00:41138Fiona Kolbert28:31+02:1313
9Jack Simpson28:36PB-00:52129Julie Clark+00:56129Phil Gibson26:27+02:1812
10Phil Gibson28:45+00:161110Louise George+01:0311
11Julie Clark29:28+00:561011Fiona Kolbert+01:0510
12Fiona Kolbert30:44+01:05912Simon Cocker+01:149
13John Scott32:51+03:24Second13Beth Gibson+02:248
14Beth Gibson34:47+02:248

Looking at the final league tables which take the best scores from 10 rounds plus bonus points for marshalling 1 week.

Scratch Table


1st           Adam Egner                        215 pts

2nd          Henry Gould                       205 pts

3rd           Simon Cocker                    191 pts



1st           Carol Milne                         142 pts

2nd          Julie Clark                            137 pts

3rd           Fiona Kolbert                     103 pts



1st           Jack Simpson                     113 pts

2nd          Josh Gibson                        108 pts

3rd           Beth Gibson                       56 pts


Handicap Table

1st           Jack Simpson                     195 pts

2nd          Fiona Kolbert                     177 pts

3rd           Simon cocker                     172 pts


Veterans table

1st           Michael Smalley               220 pts

2nd          Simon Cocker                    210 pts

3rd           Carol Milne                         188 pts


Next Tuesday 29th its the final club evening event of the year with the club Hill Climb and Freewheel competition on Harby Hill. Meet at the bottom of Harby Hill on the Waltham Road between the villages of Harby and Eastwell. Sign-on from 6.00pm with the first rider starting at 6.45. This is followed by the Freewheel competition, to see who can get the furthest back down the hill, always a keenly fought contest.