2014 Prize Presentation & Annual Dinner – Chris Sidwells

The annual prize presentation and dinner took place at Belton Woods Golf Course with over 90 club members and guests attending another very enjoyable evening, ably organised as ever by Janet East and Christine Edwards.

Following the meal there was a Q&A session with guest speaker Chris Sidwells. Chris is a cycling journalist who has written many books on a wide range  of cycling topics, makes regular contributions to a variety of magazines and has interviewed many famous riders including Lance Armstrong and Eddy Merkx so he was able to give a lot of interesting insights on variety of current and past issues.

This part of the evening could probably have gone on for several hours on its own but eventually Tony Mendham the evenings master of ceremonies managed to draw it to a close so that the awards for the 2014 season could be presented.

With Simon Cocker announcing the winners Chris presented the awards, with the big winner on the evening being John Pilgrim taking 7 Time Trial awards. Other notable achievements included Martin Hedley the 100 mile TT award, the first club rider to complete the distance since 2001. The Egner family winning 7 awards between them and Jennifer McAndrew a special award as recognition of her success in winning several national Junior Time Trial awards. It was also good to see further awards being made to reflect the increasing number of ladies in the club with Louise George winning the inaugural ladies 25 mile TT award.

Of the awards decided on by the committee Heidi Moulds won the most improved rider in recognition of the great strides she has taken in 2 years from hardly riding a bike to competing in Cyclo-Cross, Time Trials and regular coaching sessions at Fulbeck, Suzanne Holdworth won the merit award for organising and leading the weekly Saturday club social rides and the young personality award went to Max and Leo Moore for their enthusiasm at whatever activity they have taken part in.


The Jack O’Connor clubperson of the year award voted on by the members on the evening went to Loz Willetts.

There was then a special presentation of Club Life membership certificates to Alan and Janet East, Loz Willetts and Christine Edwards in recognition of the support they have given the club for many years and without which many of the club activities would not take place.

DSC_8761 DSC_8855

With the usual raffle to round the evening off and time for a bit of a chat the evening drew to a close roundabout midnight.

Full list of winners as follows

Competition 1st 2nd 3rd
G.S.Mallett – Senior BAR John Pilgrim 4:25:37
Handicap BAR John Pilgrim 2.08.50
Veterans BAR Rick Yates +43.50 Gary Symons +29.26 Tony Hardenberg +23.38
Junior BAR Reece Egner 1:44:50 Jennifer McAndrew 1:44:52
John Edwards – Juvenile BAR Adam Egner 1:51:44 Robert McAndrew 2:13:11 Ehren Courtman 2:28:55
100 Mile Cup Martin Hedley 4:54:00
K.F.Baker – 50 Mile Cup Rick Yates 1:51:49 John Pilgrin 1:58:21
30 Mile Champion Shield John Pilgrim 1:11:26
25 Mile Champion Shield Gary Symons 58:41 John Pilgrim 58:45 Karl Hunt 59:49
10 Mile Senior Male Champion Shield Karl Hunt 23:07 John Pilgrim 23:23 Gary Symons 23:24
10 Mile Junior Champion Award Reece Egner 24:33
H.K. James 10 mile Juvenile Champion Cup Adam Egner 24:55 Robert McAndrew 30:35 Ehren Courtman 34:42
Ladies Championship 10 mile Shield Jennifer McAndrew 26:34 Lara Thornhill 27:23 Louise George 27:52
Fastest 25 mile of the year Shield John Pilgrim 54:54 Gary Symons 55:52 Peter Watson 56:00
W. Harris 25m Handicap Cup – Gary Symons 56:26 John Pilgrim 57:22 Karl Hunt 57:34
The Fred Branston 3 Distance Trophy John Pilgrim 2:090:08 Adam Egner 2:26:11 Mick Egner 2;29:03
10 Mile Male Handicap League Cup Mark Bailey 180 pts Rick Yates 158 pts Jon Jarvis 154 pts
10 Mile League Award on scratch John Pilgrim 231 pts Gary Symons 216 pts Rick Yates 202 pts
Juvenile 10 mile League on Handicap boy or girl Ehren Courtman 120pts Adam Egner 99pts Robert McAndrew 50pts
John Edwards Ladies 10 mile League Cup Vicky Safaris 120pts Carol Milne 67pts Natalie Eastaugh 45pts
Veterans 10 mile league on Standard men or women Rick Yates 238 pts Gary Symons 230 pts Tony Hardenberg 204 pts
Circuit Time Trial award John Pilgrim 1:10:23 Rick Yates 1:12:16 Martin Hedley 1:14:38
Road Race Champion Cup Jennifer McAndrew Martin Ludlam Paul Conneely
Veterans Road race Dave Moulds
Jimmy James -Youth Road Race Cup Robert McAndrew 10 pts
Senior  Cyclo Cross Sean East 259pts Jennifer McAndrew 169pts Graham McAndrew 140pts
Junior Cyclo Cross Reece Egner 30 pts
Juvenile Cyclo Cross Robert McAndrew 438 pts Adam Egner 130pts
U12 Cyclo-Cross Jessica East 15pts Max Moore 14pts Billy Reed 7pts
Don Ray Senior Hill Climb Cup Peter Watson 3:11 Ian Galpin 3:32
Junior Hill Climb Award
Juvenile Hill Climb Adam Egner 2:58
Veterans Hill Climb James Westwood 3:37 Mick Egner 4:35
Freewheel Mick Egner James Westwood Adam Egner
JohnEdwards Memorial Open 10 Karl Hunt 22:23 John Pilgrim 22:24 Gary Symons 23:02
Committee Awards
Tourist Trophy John Pygott
Most Improved Rider Heidi Moulds
Merit Award Suzanne Holdsworth
Jade Ostler Young Personality Max & Leo Moore
Jack O’Connor Club “Person” of the Year Loz Willets