2019 Awards & Annual Dinner – Kajsa Tynen – Photos in Gallery

Witham Wheelers held a successful annual Dinner and Prize presentation at Belton Golf club on Saturday evening. Guest of honour was Kajsa Tylen from Nottingham who in 2016 set a new world record for the distance cycled in a year by a female of 52,025km. She gave a very interesting illustrated talk on the motivation required to cycle at least 100km every day and some of the experiences she had during the year.

Kajsa then helped present the prizes to this years prize winners who included

Michael Smalley – Veteran, G.S.Mallett Senior and H’Cap BAR, 30 & 100 mile TT trophies, Veteran 10 mile league

Jack Simpson – John Edwards Juvenile BAR and 10 mile TT cup

Karl Baillie – John Edwards Memorial 10 Cup, David Chantry Memorial 25 Cup, and KF Baker 50 mile cups and Senior Road Race

Josh Gibson – Junior 10 mile TT and Hill Climb

Carol Milne – Ladies 25 mile

Tracey George – Ladies 10 mile, Janet East 3 distance circuit Trophy and Hill Climb

Adam Egner – Fred Branston 3 distance circuit Shield and 10 mile Scratch TT league

Henry Gould – W.Harris 25 mile Handicap Cup

Simon Cocker – Veteran Hill Climb and mens 10 mile league handicap

Fiona Kolbert – Christine Edwards 10 mile handicap league cup

Martin Milne – Veterans Road race

Amy Kolbert – Jimmy James Juvenile Circuit Race Cup and Cyclo-Cross

Reece Egner – Don Ray Senior Hill Climb Shield and Freewheel

Julie Clark – Senior Cyclo-Cross

Isla Kolbert – Under 12 Cyclo-Cross

Committee awards

Touring achievement of the Year – Annabelle Gould for cycling up the Tourmalet climb in the Pyrenees over 20km long and 2000m climbing before her 9th birthday.

Most improved Rider – Amy Kolbert for going undefeated in the Lincolnshire cyclo-cross season in both the under 14 and under 16 age groups.

Merit Trophy – Dave Miller for competing in numerous different club events through the year without getting any awards.

Young personality – Max Kolbert for cheerfully competing throughout the winter in the under 9 cyclo-cross as conditions got wetter, muddier and colder with each event.

The Club Person of the year award is voted for by the members on the evening and went to Simon Cocker

Brian Mallet was then presented with an award from Cycling Time Trials in honour of his many years of service to Time Trialling in Lincolnshire.

Flowers were presented as thanks to Janet East who having organised her 30th and ‘final’ club dinner 2 years ago was back in charge having taken up the reigns once again.

Finally a raffle was held of promises kindly donated by various local businesses with the proceeds going to this years Club Charity, GROW. They are raising funds, to provide landscaped gardens at Grantham Hospital to promote wellbeing and recovery.